NBA Award voting: Several Raptors earn votes; DeRozan appears in sketch

2 mins read

The NBA held its first ever award show on Monday, and while no Toronto Raptors were finalists for any award, the global ambassador did a pretty solid job hosting.

And hey, as the voting results filtered out, it was revealed that the Raptors ended up with some love further down ballots.

  • DeMar DeRozan received one fifth-place vote for Most Valuable Player, finishing 11th overall. (Chris Bosh finished seventh one year, the highest a Raptor has ever ranked.)
  • DeMar DeRozan also received one third-place vote for Most Improved Player.
  • Kyle Lowry placed eight in Teammate of the Year voting.
  • Jakob Poeltl and Fred VanVleet each got one vote for All-Rookie Second Team.
  • P.J. Tucker received three votes for All-Defensive Second Team. Serge Ibaka received one.
  • DeMarre Carroll placed sixth in voting for the Sportsmanship Award (he was the Atlantic Division nominee).
  • Masai Ujiri received two third-place votes for Executive of the Year.
  • Dwane Casey received one second-place vote and two third-place votes for Coach of the Year, placing ninth overall.
  • No Raptors received votes for Sixth Man of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year.

Prior to Monday night, DeMar DeRozan had been named to the All-NBA Third-Team, Jerry Stackhouse had been named the D-League Coach of the Year, Edy Tavares had been named D-League Defensive Player of the Year, and Tavares and Axel Toupane had been named to All-D-League Teams.

There was also this tonight:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.